The Sunday Morning Post
The Sunday Morning Post Podcast
Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays + Audio
1
0:00
-39:16

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays + Audio

1
Veterans Memorial Park in Millinocket, ME (photo taken by me in 2017)

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays from The Sunday Morning Post! I am taking a short break this week to focus on family time and other year-end activities. It is also my son’s birthday on December 19th and, of course, Christmas is upon us!

My favorite day of the year rivaled only perhaps by the Fourth of July is Christmas Eve. I find the peacefulness of it, the anticipation, and the magic to be particularly special. I have fond memories of going to my grandparents’ house for spaghetti dinners each Christmas Eve, often followed by attending the Christmas Pageant at our church, and then getting to open one or two presents before being sent to bed. Exactly ten years ago, on Christmas Eve 2011, I proposed to my now-wife on Christmas Eve just prior to midnight, which remains the greatest Christmas present ever.

In lien of a full written article, I am experimenting with something new today for my weekly post: audio. People who have known me or followed me on social media prior to the Spring 2021 launch of The Sunday Morning Post may know I had an off-and-on podcast for several years called The Maine Show. Although I have not produced any new episodes in recent months, the entire back catalogue of 130+ episodes can still be found online. My single most favorite episode was called “Holiday Stories,” and it is a series of people sharing their holiday memories. Some are happy, others are sad. All are packed with emotion. I wanted to share that episode with you today, which also gives me a chance to play around with Substack’s audio tools. Click on the audio buttons at the top of the article and you can listen to that podcast episode. As The Sunday Morning Post continues to grow and evolve, there may be more audio on the horizon in 2022!

In the meantime, from my family to yours, Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays. I hope everyone gets a moment of peace and quietude this week and meaningful time with family, friends, or other loved ones. Thank you for reading The Sunday Morning Post. I’ll be back next week with a full article.

Stillwater River Lights Trail in Orono, ME - 12/18/21 - © Ben Sprague

Leave a comment


If you are interested in more audio from The Maine Show Podcast, here are links to several of my most downloaded episodes ever:

How to Climb Mt. Katahdin: https://traffic.libsyn.com/secure/maineshow/Katahdin_Rebroadcast.mp3

Christopher Poulos: from incarceration to law school: https://traffic.libsyn.com/secure/maineshow/Christopher_Poulos_final.mp3

Matt, Max, and Caden Mattson on basketball and family at George Stevens Academy: https://traffic.libsyn.com/secure/maineshow/Mattson_Family_Interview.mp3

Jean Deighan: a career in finance, the arts, and the community: https://traffic.libsyn.com/secure/maineshow/Jean_Deighan_podcast.mp3

Me interviewing Nate Silver live on stage at the Maine Science Festival in March 2016: https://traffic.libsyn.com/secure/maineshow/Nate_Silver_MSF.mp3

Share

1 Comment
The Sunday Morning Post
The Sunday Morning Post Podcast
Articles about the economy, real estate, housing, and Maine.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Ben Sprague